Sidmouth Rugby Club has recently held two end-of-season award evenings to recognise the achievements and significant contributions of volunteers and players.

More than sixty were in attendance at the Volunteers Evening, at which chairman Mark Seward thanked the many people who give up their time freely on behalf of the Club. Area Rugby Development Officer Jason Luff presented RFU Certificates of Recognition to Mark Ross, Sally Barratt, John Hamill, Nigel Vanstone, Graham Bess and Chris Fitzhenry.


Important contributions were also noted from Cara Monoghan and Saul Vicary for starting a girls team, and Stuart Cavin and Roger Aplin for coaching and managing the Under 16s from the age of six.

Finally Jason Luff presented the Clubman of the Year trophy to Mark Seward for his work as chairman, particularly in taking the Club through the process of incorporation.


Last Saturday more than a hundred players, officials and supporters gathered in the clubhouse for the Players Presentation Evening. Instead of the traditional formal dinner, they enjoyed a buffet and casino evening to complement the following presentations:


1st Team Player of the Year – Josh Bess

1st Team Most Improved Player – Gavin Pearson

2nd Team Player of the Year – Ben Pratt

2nd Team Most Improved Player – Tom Reed

Player Clubman – Chris Otway      


Colts Player of the Year – John Pares

Colts Player Player – Rabi Hansford

Colts Most Improved Player – James Thomas

Colts Clubman – Dan Powell


The Terry Marriott Cup (Patrons Player of the Year) – Dan Retter

The Tug Wilson Cup for Player Volunteer – Mark Unsworth.