Presentation Dinner

Just over 50 players attended the Sidmouth Rugby Club end of season Presentation Dinner, which was held in the Clubhouse on Friday 7th May.

Chairman Terry O’Brien told those assembled that they could look back with satisfaction on a season in which the club had maintained its status in the top echelons of Devon rugby. The Chiefs have retained their position in the South West league and have qualified to take part in the Senior Cup once again next season.

Third Team captain Hakim Bakrim reported that the team had competed well in their first season of Merit Table rugby, finishing third. He presented the Third Team player of the year trophy to Dan Prettyjohn.

The Quins will compete in the top Devon Merit Table again next season. Vice Chairman Dave Whelan presented the 2nd Team Player of the Year trophy to Bryn Thomas and the 2nd Team Most Improved Player was Richard Hodges.

Coach Andy Matchett, who is standing down after three years, presented the Player of the Year trophy to Nick Mills, who was receiving it for the second year running. The Most Improved Player award went to Ben Halford.

In recognition of his contribution as coach, presentations were made to Andy Matchett by both the Committee and the players.

The formalities came to a close with the presentation of the cup for Clubman of the Year to Steve Trim in recognition of his completion of five years as captain of the 1st XV.