Sidmouth Rugby Football Club limited

Notice of Annual General Meeting

 Notice is hereby given that the General Meeting (Meeting) of Sidmouth Rugby Football Club Limited (Club) will be held at The Club House The Blackmore, Heydon’s Lane Sidmouth on 11th September 2017 at 7pm to transact the following business:

To consider and vote on the Minutes of the AGM which was held on 12th September 2016

To receive from the Board a report of the Club’s activities since the last AGM

To receive from the Board the Club’s Accounts

To elect six Directors, they are retiring but being eligible for re election

Lester Willmington, Mark Seward and Terry O’Brien are due to retire in accordance with Article 27.

Richard Sommers, Graham Brown and David Salter were co-opted to the Board during the course of the year and are due to retire in accordance with Article 28 and are eligible for re-election under the same Article.

It is recommended by the Board that Lester Willmington, Mark Seward, Terry O’Brien, Richard Sommers Graham Brown and David Salter be re-elected.

To consider and vote on a Resolution proposed by the Board (see below)

To elect Terry O’Brien as President as nominated and recommended by the Board provided that the Resolution is passed at the meeting

To transact any other business as may be brought before it 7 days notice in writing having been given to the Board.


By order of the Board

Richard Sommers


Sidmouth Rugby Football Club Limited

Registered Office Hertford House Southernhay Gardens Exeter EX1 1NP

23rd August 2017

Resolution by the Board

A proposed addition to the Rules:

“The President shall be elected at an annual general meeting. The election for the office of President shall be conducted in accordance with the procedure described in Article 27. A member so appointed shall hold office for a three year term but shall be eligible for re-election. For the avoidance of doubt the member who is elected President is not a director as a result of being elected as President. The member who holds the office of President is eligible for nomination as an Elected Director if not already so elected”.


In accordance with Article 48, the vote is by way of 2/3rds majority of those present and proxy votes.  


Notes to the Notice of Annual General Meeting

The Minutes of the 2016 AGM AGM MINUTES and Club Accounts to 30th April 2017 are available from the secretary whose details appear below.

To be eligible to vote you must be a member over the age of 18 and have paid your membership fee for the 2016/17 or 2017/18 season. To be a candidate for election to the Board, to propose or second a candidate all must be eligible to vote.

Candidature forms may be obtained from the secretary. All Candidature Forms should be sent by post or email to reach him by 4pm on the 4th September 2017.

For Copy Documents, Proxy Votes or a written request to transact any other business please contact the Club Secretary Richard Sommers by email at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or by post to Manor Park, Broadway, Sidmouth EX10 8HS or by text or phone on 07590 712212 giving your details.